New Comics and Deadlines

I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make when they go by. – Douglas Adams

Now, I don’t live by Douglas Adams’ personal ideas, but there’s definitely something about a present, pressing deadline to break the juices loose. This is why I try to actually set deadlines for myself that have consequences beyond just disappointment; today I have a deadline that’s imposed from outside of myself, though – my rough draft for the Women’s Studies Senior Seminar needs to be to my professor by the end of business today. Once I finish with that, I can get a little more done with Independent Flight, because my editor’s finals finish up today and I want to get the semifinal draft of IF to her by the end of the weekend.

So, now about comics: I have followed comics kind of loosely since I was little. Right now I’m reading three comics: Tales of Honor (#2 came out last week), Pathfinder (#13 is supposed to drop this month), and Rat Queens (#6 is now in my hot little hands). Of the three, my definite favorite right now (though the other two are not bad at all) is Rat Queens. It’s certainly not for the faint of vocabulary – nor, with this month’s final page, for the faint of heart – but it is a damn good read (and given its company, that’s saying something).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

