Politics are the Heart of Science Fiction

The Extrahuman Union

So, there is an article out there today saying that politics don’t belong in science fiction.

It’s by a guy (Glenn Reynolds, aka Instapundit) who is known mostly for writing mildly irritating things about politics. I know, I had no idea Instapundit was still around! That really brings me back, talking about him. Ah. Memories.

Anyway, I’m a political writer as well as a science fiction writer, so I took one look at this title and just rolled my eyes. Then I read the rest.

Here’s how it starts:

There was a time when science fiction was a place to explore new ideas, free of the conventional wisdom of staid, “mundane” society, a place where speculation replaced group think, and where writers as different as libertarian-leaning Robert Heinlein, and left-leaning Isaac Asimov and Arthur Clarke would share readers, magazines, and conventions.

Yes, in those days you could read…

View original post 400 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Politics are the Heart of Science Fiction

  1. caelesti says:

    I don’t know if I’d go so far as to say politics is the heart of science fiction, but I do think thoughtfully written SF generally has socio-political implications in it, because you’re creating an alternate society/culture(s) so how you create it will often reflect what you think of current human societies. (this is Mariah Sheehy from facebook)

Leave a Reply

