Graduation

My updates have been spotty over the last couple of weeks because of the end of the academic year – I graduate from college on Saturday, so among other things, I am now professionally qualified to tell silly stories about rayguns and spaceships (I’m serious, degree in creative writing).

A degree in creative writing sounds like such a trivial thing in an era where we’re beset on all sides by problems that need people with degrees in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) in increasing numbers – but it’s not. The arts are what we live for; they’re what gives context to the lives that are saved by people doing science. I have just enough scientific training to (hopefully) write science in my science fiction without sounding TOO much like I don’t know what I’m talking about (I also have friends I can ask about things, which is useful). 

To the rest of the Class of 2014, be exceptional.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Graduation

  1. Congratulations, grad! Keep me informed of your party plans. (c:

Leave a Reply

