An early follow-up on A Brief Study of the Female Power Fantasy

I intend to put more time into following up this VERY brief blog post that still took me three days to compose – there are more avenues of research I want to follow. Particularly it was pointed out that certain male characters – especially Batman – HAVE been called Sues/Stus. While I don’t think I EXPLICITLY denied that this was the case, it does point out a specific avenue of further exploration: How much of a power fantasy does a character have to be before they are considered an unrealistic power fantasy, and how is this differentiated between male and female writers and between male and female characters? I also want to look at the divide between power fantasies and critique in fanfiction vs. professional fiction.

The commentary I’ve received so far IS valuable, and I AM listening!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

